Macchiato

IMG_4613

I spotted him again, the visually impaired man I purchased Diwali Lamps from last winter. Albeit, all alone this time, walking along the pavement outside Enchante Patisserie in Khan Market, New Delhi. The lady in the red sari wasn’t by his side this time and wonder as I did, I didn’t purchase from him the fabrics he had for sale.

I really wanted to help; however, I was distracted by a bespectacled young man in black who wanted to know how to get upstairs to what sounded like “Sly Girl Alley” to me.

“I don’t know. The entry is from the other side, I guess.”

“Cool!”

IMG_4614

I came back home with some Christmas goodies, which include cushions, shoes, cards and a white tiger!

Incidentally, my Portuguese teacher Sara, showed us an advertisement of Samsung Good Vibes, a two-way communication app that allows the deafblind to send and receive messages with friends, family or anybody else through their smartphones. It translates Morse Code input into text or voice and vice versa. An app with two interfaces. For the deafblind.

I like the way the human mind prevails over all odds and has an answer to the oddest of oddities.

Last night. After a bitter macchiato. The way I prefer it.

Kanchan Singh

19 December 2019, Thursday

New Delhi, Incredible India

Leave a comment